Hospital Placement 2017: My Last Two Weeks

My last two weeks at Lakeridge Health Oshawa, I completed the following:

Monday

I helped check certain hospital floors for their iv bag stock (NAPRA 4). I replenished drugs for the operating room trays (NAPRA 3). I also processed returns from hospital floors using the computer, and restocked the returns into traditional stock bins, as well as stocked shelves (NAPRA 4).

Tuesday

I worked at the fill counter to fill the traditional order refill lists for specific hospital floors, as well as filled some new traditional orders (NAPRA 3). I took note of sound-alike-look-alike drugs (SALADS), and of the proper handling of hazardous drugs (NAPRA 5; 9). I also saw how to fill leave of absence drugs (LOA), ensuring proper packaging (NAPRA 1; 3; 9). I recognized which drugs were running low in stock in the traditional unit dose bins when filling, so the unit dose packagers could make more, and I restocked returns (NAPRA 4).

Wednesday

I filled refill lists for specific hospital floors (NARPA 3). I barcoded meds for MedSelect machines, and prepackaged vials into smaller packaging (NARPA 3; 4). I helped fill narcotics into a MedSelect in the Durham Regional Cancer Centre wing (NAPRA 3), and signed documentation that I witnessed a discrepancy, as there were more narcotics in the machine than the computer’s inventory stated (NAPRA 1). I also assisted in unpacking a McKesson order (NAPRA 4).

Thursday

I was able to assist in the area responsible for sterile preparations. I helped gather completed iv bags to fill the refill list for specific hospital floors (NAPRA 3). I also helped prepare for sterile compounding by gathering drugs and appropriate iv bags, and creating a batch number and labelling bags (NAPRA 3). Later, I was able to properly wash and garb with the appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE), and enter the clean room to observe sterile compounding in a Laminar Airflow Hood (NAPRA 1; 3; 5; 9). Then, I unpacked a Baxter order of iv bags, barcoded them, packaged them into groups of 20, and put tamper proof foil on the ports of the narcotic iv bags (NAPRA 1; 4).

Friday

I experienced an evening shift, which began with checking the inventory of non-sterile compounded products (NAPRA 4), and then making a suspension (NARPA 3). The rest of the evening there was a Code Grey, which is loss of infrastructure, as Lakeridge Health was hit with a computer virus which ended up affecting nearly 100 countries. As a result, the evening was spent visiting hospital floors to see which MedSelect machines were not operating, and aiding nurses to find the inventory sheet of their MedSelect machines so they could manually open them with keys found behind an emergency kick plate, and locate the meds they would need (NAPRA 1, 6, 7, 8).

Monday

I had the opportunity to spend the morning in the Durham Regional Cancer Centre wing of the hospital. There, I garbed in the appropriate PPE, and entered the clean room to observe sterile compounding with cancer drugs (NAPRA 1; 3; 5; 9). I witnessed the use of a Class II Biological Safety Cabinet; the PhaSeal system used to create a closed system to withdraw drugs from a vial, and inject drugs into an iv bag; and pass through windows to deliver drugs to the adjoining cancer clinic and keep the clean room sterile (NAPRA 1; 3; 5; 9). I learned how the cancer centre takes place in many clinical trial, and how they assist patients with obtaining non Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) drugs through various programs such as Trillium, the Exceptional Access Program (EAP), or the Compassionate Drug Program (NAPRA 1; 2; 5; 6; 8). Later, back at the pharmacy, I filled refill lists and traditional orders (NAPRA 3).

Tuesday

I barcoded sterile drugs for MedSelect machines (NARPA 4). I filled refill lists and traditional orders (NAPRA 3), including a LOA, ensuring proper packaging (NAPRA 1; 3; 9). I checked the expiry of meds in anesthesia trays, and replenished meds in the trays (NAPRA 3; 4; 9). I also helped stock shelves (NAPRA 4).

Wednesday

I filled refill lists and traditional orders for specific hospital floors (NAPRA 3). I checked the expiry of meds in emergency room crash cart trays, and replenished meds in the trays, and sealed trays in special bags (NAPRA 3; 4; 9). I also processed returns from hospital floors using the computer, and restocked the returns into traditional stock bins (NAPRA 4).

Thursday

I witnessed how to refill the list for the night cupboard, with the appropriate packaging and documentation, as well as how to open and restock the night cupboard (NAPRA 3; 4). I filled refill lists and traditional orders for specific hospital floors (NAPRA 3). I also restocked returns into traditional stock bins (NAPRA 4).

Friday

I filled refill lists and traditional orders for specific hospital floors (NAPRA 3). I restocked returns into traditional stock bins (NAPRA 4). I unpacked a Baxter order of iv bags, barcoded them and packaged them into groups of 20 (NAPRA 4). Also, I stocked meds on shelves (NAPRA 4).

 

Leave a Reply

